Lakeside Triples a Great Success for Tuross Bowls

The 2023 Lakeside Triples held at Tuross Head Bowling Club proved to be a great success with 26 teams competing for $4,000 in prize money.  Teams travelled from far and wide to take part in the event.  There were sides from Wollongong, Parkes, Crookwell, Canberra, Queanbeyan, Merimbula, Ulladulla as well as most of the nearby clubs

The organisers would like to acknowledge the on-going sponsorship from Luxaflex/Platinum Blinds that makes it possible for events like this to be held. The whole Tuross Head community benefits from having the visitors in the village!

The teams played six games of 14 ends of two bowls triples over Saturday and Sunday.  While the greens were in excellent condition, thanks to the great work of the Club’s greens staff, players found the strong and gusty winds a real challenge.  The winds were very difficult on Saturday but eased off considerably on Sunday.

After the six games only two sides managed to remain undefeated!  Teams from Tomakin and Malua Bay were successful in winning all six games and were rewarded with the bulk of the prize money.  The winners were a family team from Tomakin – Helena, Greg and Brett Megee.  They had a vey successful weekend chalking up 6 wins and a margin of 69 shots.

Darren White and Shane Quinlivan from Malua Bay teamed with Jason Hossack of Bodalla to be the only other six game winners.  They had a margin of 53 shots and were rewarded with a handy sum for coming second.

Two teams won 5 games.  The Ulladulla side of Mark Somerville, Mike Frame and Chris Godwin won the third place prize money with 5 wins and a 30 shot margin.  Marshall Sanderson, Geoff May and Ben Hof from Merimbula came fourth with 5 wins and plus 17 shots.

Fifth place was very close with Merimbula’s Chris and Charlie Grebert joining Queanbeyan’s Rob Craven sneaking into the last prize winning place by a single shot!  They won 4 games with a margin of 35 shots holding of a Canberra side who managed 4 wins and plus 34!!

The non-prize winners who had the best margin on the last game of each day also shared in the money. Malua Bay’s Peter Harris, Peter Jeffs and Peter Keatly had the best last game on Saturday.  On Sunday the prize was taken by Jack Boon, Don Angel and Boris Schneider.

Congratulations to all the prize winners!

A big thanks to all of the staff at Club Tuross for their hard work and assistance.  Congratulations to the organisers lead by Marcel Kors and Andrew Farrington who put in a lot of work over a few months to make sure everything ran smoothly.

Recent Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *